Scientists call for ecological, sustainable and participative economy

G20 Summit 2017

A key area in terms of transitioning towards a fundamentally fair and cooperative interaction with our co-world is the financial industry:

  • Public banks should cease to accept as minimum reserves financial products that are damaging to people or our co-world.
  • Central banks should cease to accept as minimum reserves financial products that are damaging to people or our co-world.
  • All commercial banks should submit verifiable information on sustainability standards for their own business and the financial products they offer.
  • Approval of new financial products should be subject to compliance with Sustainable Development Goals based on the Agenda 2030.
  • An independent, publicly inspected rating agency (sustainability “control board”) should be set up for financial products.
  • Speculation on foodstuffs should be restricted to genuine hedging transactions for food-producing companies.

Furthermore, we demand that labour and income are decoupled. An unconditional basic income of the same amount for men and women is necessary. Additionally, “houses of self-work” need to be established. Not until then we will value our own abilities in the same way as paid dependant labour. It means progress when everybody can enjoy more freedom and self-determination in their work.


Last but not least, as the US economist Kenneth E. Boulding wrote, “Anyone who believes in indefinite growth in anything physical, on a physically finite planet, is either mad or an economist.”


IV. This statement was drafted on 2 May and last amended on 31 May. It is based on individual, subject-specific statements by environmentally conscious members of the scientific community. The authors of the individual sections are united by a common recognition of the urgent necessity for modernising. Although, agreement with all the demands presented herein is not a prerequisite.


Initial signatories: Dr. Irene Schöne, Kiel; Prof. Dr. Harald Bolsinger, Würzburg (for the section on the financial industry); Prof. Dr. Johannes Hoffmann, Kelkheim; Prof. Dr. Volker Stahlmann, Ottensoos


Additional signatories:
Prof. Dr. Heinz Häberle, Herrsching; Prof. Dr. Andreas Häberle, Rapperswil/Switzerland,
Sebastian Schönauer, Bund Naturschutz, Bayern; Stefan Klinkenberg Architekten, Berlin;
Prof. Dr. Andreas Knie, WZB Berlin; Ed van Hinte, Den Haag/Netherlands;
Umwelt-Akademie e.V., München; Prof. Dr. Antonio Autiero, Münster;
Prof. Dr. Bernd Hirschl, IÖW Berlin; Heidrun und Prof. Dr. Hans Kessler, Werther;
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Gantke, Frankfurt; Prof. Dr. Edward O. Wilson, Cambridge/USA;
Prof. Dr. John D’Arcy May, Geelong/Australia; Prof. Dr. Michael Rosenberger, Linz/Austria;
Dr. Gerhard Hofmann, Berlin; Prof. Dr. Heribert Schmitz, Goldbach;
Monika von Brandt, Mannheim; Prof. Dr. Gerhard Scherhorn, Mannheim;
Prof. Dr. Haruko Okano, Tokio/Japan; Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schröder, Kassel;
Prof. Dr. Benezet Bujo, Fribourg/Switzerland; Dr. Hyunju Shin, Seoul/South Korea;
Prof. Dr. Franz-Josef Stendebach, Hünfeld; Prof. Dr. Franz Segbergs, Marburg; Gerhard Guldner, Berlin; Amelia Zinke, München; Dieter Walch, Nieder-Olm; Dieter Holm, Pretoria/South Africa;
Walter Hofmann, Dachsberg-Wilfingen; Rainer Schubert, Hamburg; Dr. Lothar Gündling, Porto/Portugal; Wilfried Rähse, Hamburg; Prof. Dr. Robert Schlögl, Berlin; Veronika Neukum-Hofmann, Berlin; Michael Thalhammer, Wien/Austria;



Similar Posts